Macquarie University & Chiropractic

In 1991 the Chiropractic profession reached a milestone by achieving University status, here is my graduation photo in 1991 conferred to me by the then Chancellor Michael Kirby, who then went on to become Justice of the High Court of Australia (1996-2009).

Professional Accreditation

The degrees offered in Chiropractic are currently accredited and internationally recognised. Professional accreditation with the NSW Chiropractic Registration Board requires the completion of an accredited 5-year chiropractic program conducted at a University within Australia, or have completed an accredited program overseas that satisfies the requirements set by the Australian Chiropractors Registration Boards.

Through Macquarie University the pathway to gain registration as a chiropractor in Australia and New Zealand is the successful completion of both the Bachelor of Chiropractic Science and the Master of Chiropractic (minimum of 5 years full time study) at our University.

  • Undergraduate Programs
  • Postgraduate Programs
  • Research

History of Chiropractic at Macquarie

The professional degree in chiropractic offered by Macquarie University is an evolution of a course started 40 years ago. The former Sydney College of Chiropractic was established in 1959 and operated as a successful, independent professional school. In 1990 the Sydney College course, staff and other resources became part of Macquarie University this was a major landmark in the history of chiropractic education. On the 31st July in 1990 the ‘Centre for Chiropractic’ was developed and incorporated within the ‘School of Biological Science’. At this time the Master of Chiropractic was created. The university also undertook an enormous restructure during the early ’90s and the various ‘Schools’ focusing in aspects of Science were merged within the Division of Environmental and Life Sciences.

This milestone development placed chiropractic education within the mainstream of Higher Education. In April 1991 following a successful accreditation inspection by the Australasian Council on Chiropractic and Osteopathic Education, (ACCOE), the Master of Chiropractic gained international accreditation via the Australasian Council on Chiropractic and Osteopathic Education and its affiliated Councils in the United States, Canada and thence Europe.

In March 1992 the Centre offered the Master of Chiropractic Science degree as a professional development course for experienced chiropractors. In June 1994 the Centre relocated its administration to newly refurbished premises on the Macquarie main campus. The University opened its second and third teaching clinics in Eastwood and Epping; both neighbouring suburbs of the University, in October 1994 and 1996 respectively. In 1994 we also saw the termination of interstate introductory chiropractic courses. In April 1996 The Centre for Chiropractic underwent a successful ACCE (formerly ACCOE) inspection.

In 2002 the Division of Environmental and Life Sciences incorporated undergraduate Health and a postgraduate Ageing and Health programs to the Centre of Chiropractic. With a new research and teaching stream, the department restructured and renamed itself to the Department of Health and Chiropractic. A Centre for Chiropractic was established within the new Department to foster both research and teaching excellence for the chiropractic profession.

In 2009 the Department of Health and Chiropractic merged into the new Macquarie University faculty structure. The Department has since restructured and named the Department of Chiropractic in the new Faculty of Science. The area of health has now been relocated into the Department of Human Geography.

The Department is currently lead by Dr Rosemary Giuriato (Chiropractor). Dr Giuriato’s qualifications include the chiropractic qualification of Post Graduate Diploma of Chiropractic from Sydney College of Chiropractic in Sydney, Australia and a BSc (University of Sydney). Dr Giuriato has an interest in clinical chiropractic and is also the Director of Clinics for Macquarie University and makes time to continue practicing as a clinician between her teaching and research commitments.

History of the Sydney College of Chiropractic

Originally established as the Sydney College of Osteopathy in 1959, the School offered a four-year evening and weekend program. Alfred Kaufman its first Principal had British Osteopathic and Naturopathic training, Science training in Germany and Canada to doctorate level and Chiropractic qualification from the Indiana College of Chiropractic. From its inception both osteopathy and chiropractic were taught with twin diplomas being awarded at its first graduation ceremony in 1964.

Wallace Brown was appointed Principal after Kaufmans’ departure in 1964. Brown’s leadership was charismatic and recognising a shift of public demand, the College responding by tailoring its teaching to satisfy this demand and altering its name to the Sydney College of Osteopathy and Chiropractic. His successor, embarked on an immediate series of developments which significantly enhanced the format and content of the program. Gary Stavrou was appointed as Principal in 1971. Immediately the part time course was extended from four to five years. In 1973 Public Clinic training was established replacing the previous fieldwork training.

In 1974 the course was altered to a four year, full time course. At the same time steps were taken to explore the potential for movement of the program to within an established university. Following lengthy consultation with the University of New South Wales and the New South Wales Higher Education Board, an ‘End-on’ program was established which built postgraduate professional studies on an undergraduate science degree foundation. In 1978 the first End-on program students were enrolled simultaneously at university and the Sydney College.

Accreditation of the new program was achieved in 1980 with the New South Wales Higher Education Board. A new award was approved by the Australian Council on Awards in Advanced Education – the Graduate Diploma in Chiropractic.

In 1980 Gary Stavrou was appointed Dean and Brian O’Reilly Principal. In 1982 John Kelly was appointed Principal and was succeeded in 1985 by Rod Bonello, who continued in the position until the merger with Macquarie University. In 1990 an institutional merger agreement was finalised in which the Sydney College transferred its assets to Macquarie University in exchange for the University agreeing to become totally responsible for chiropractic education.

Associate Professor R. Bonello was appointed Director of the newly created Centre for Chiropractic, becoming the first university professorial appointment in chiropractic in the world. The Centre was established as an arm of the School of Biological Sciences. In 1999 the Centre was granted autonomy within the University to become an independent Department.

Developments since the time of merger have been directed toward fine tuning the program and the profile of graduates in the light of international expansion in chiropractic and professional accreditation. The professional training was accredited by the Australasian Council on Chiropractic Education in 1991 and 1996, and accredited by the JEC Registration Boards in 1998 for a full five year term.